top of page

A Fright at a Fright Before Christmas

Updated: Feb 7, 2022



So. Fright Nights. Technically, their xmas event - Fright Before Christmas.


First article, well. . . Let’s try not to mess this up!


I let it be known immediately in the beginning that, while I’m no stranger to horror and spooky stuff, that I had never actually been in a haunt like the one I had been so graciously given a chance to participate in. To say I was psyched for a chance to experience it would be a major understatement, and to say I wasn’t at least marginally intimated would also be an understatement. However, with Brandon telling me more about the location and what would be going on the closer we got I found myself vibrating with excitement, and also the can of triple shot coffee I had purchased on the way there. Anyway! By the time we finally arrived I was excited to see all that Fright Nights had to offer, and I must say, I wasn’t disappointed!



With my mask on my face, and the good ol’ trademark smile plastered on my digital face I trudged through a few yards of mud, almost slipping several times, before finally getting to where we were headed. The first thing I hear when we enter the area? A mighty “AAAAAAAAAAARGH” from none other than Krampus, someone who later that night we would get somewhat well acquainted with as we shared jokes and laughs. Although due to the muteness of our Christmas friend it was more so me and Brandon laughing at nothing in particular.


Our trip into the actual place itself was quite the journey. We ran into the Grinch well past the doors, quite the interesting character. Me and Brandon talked more as I recorded as we walked through and I just sort of panned over everything, taking it all in. Now, for the haunt itself, now that was a ride. For one, holy moley the makeup was superb. I distinctly remember walking through this one section with Brandon where we both looked at one another and Brandon went “Hey Ty, is that a statue?” and I looked towards what he was talking about and was just dumbstruck for a moment because, for the life of me, I couldn’t tell if it was a statue or not. However, I caught sight of a very, very, very slight sway and I prepared myself for the inevitable jump scare because I felt it in my gut that this Jack Frost thing wasn’t a statue.



As we got close to the exit my anxiety won out and the statue came to life! Brandon jumped halfway to the roof, and I was amazed by how good the makeup was. That’s something that was a constant through the whole walk, Brandon jumping three feet in the air and me going on about the makeup, or costumes, or anything that really caught my fancy. Unfortunately, much to Brandon’s shock I’m not really easily scared, and I think I proved that quite well as we walked through and I stopped talking intermediately to comment on one thing or another. Maybe it was a prop, a costume piece, makeup, acting, or something like that. Regardless, even if it didn’t make me jump as much as I thought it would, it was still a great experience and I look forward to going to it again next year!


The interview with the owners went very well too, they’re very kindly people who obviously love what they do. Everyone there does, you can tell by just how much effort that they put into everything going on around them. It was a lovely first time at a Christmas haunt, and I really look forward to seeing what they bring to the table for Halloween.


Heres our interview of the event.



Keep it spooky guys.


- Ty



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page